Wednesday, August 13, 2014

The Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards

The Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards (WMELS) directly influenced text included on the Growing Wisconsin Readers brochure and website. Each state has developed their own early learning standards, and WMELS are used throughout the state by a variety of early childhood advocates.  Are you using WMELS in your library early literacy work?  Read more about WMELS below and find out how to download or order a copy.  Be sure to view the Early Literacy Update!

What are the Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards?

Cover image from WMELS
The Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards specify developmental expectations for children from birth through entrance to first grade. The standards reflect attention to all the domains of a child's learning and development. The domains include: Health & Physical Development; Social and Emotional Development: Language Development and Communication; Approaches to Learning: Cognition and General Knowledge. Each domain is divided into sub-domains. Each sub-domain includes developmental expectations, program standards, performance standards and developmental continuum. Samples of children's behavior and adult strategies are also provided

Why have model early learning standards?

Based on research and supported by evidence-based practices, the Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards provide a framework for families, professionals and policy makers to:

  • Share a common language and responsibility for the well-being of children from birth to first grade;
  • Know and understand developmental expectations of young children;
  • Understand the connection among the foundations of early childhood, K-12 educational experiences, and lifelong learning.
Download or order WMELS: